Size Comparison Chart

So, I was browsing the net looking for images of the Norway class starship and realised there wern’t really many decent plans of it, at the same time, I also noticed that most size comparison charts out there use images from various sources, some of which do not retain the same style (for example line drawings next to renders), so I decided to start working though the ships and create them all in one style, I decided to go for the simplified LCARS side views as this shows off the profiles of the ships much better. I’ll add more ships to this post as I create them.

comparisontest5

starfleetships1
klingonships1 
Romulan

Dominionships

I am using side view renders of the models used in the series where possable for greatest accuracy, ship scales are are been done as per Ex Astris Scientia’s charts as they are the most accurate in my opinion. I have also added some ships from the upcoming Star Trek Online MMO.

This entry was posted in Star Trek. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Size Comparison Chart

  1. Nice work! It is good to see them in a uniform style.

  2. Suricata says:

    Its actually quite fun creating some of these, since its been so long since I’ve gone thoguh my folders of referance materials for these ships, especially the common ones like the Galaxy and Intrepid classes.

    It feels kind of wierd placing the Luna class here, but she is kind of soft canon these days, I’m sure I’ll upset a few people having the new Enterprise at the ‘correct’ scale as well 😛

  3. Michael says:

    Looks very nice. I personally think the new Enterprise looked pretty nice on screen. I heard some people complain the nacelles on her were really “huge” compared to the rest of the ship. I beg to differ, in that I believe the ships should have fairly large engines. People have gotten to used to the likes of the Intrepid and Nova Classes. Hope you do more of these schematics 🙂

  4. Suricata says:

    Added several more ships, including the Cheyenne, Promethius, Oberth and Akira classes. I might add the Enterprise-J as well, although its pretty huge so I might have to leave that one for the larger scale chart with the stations on it.

  5. Amdguy27 says:

    Very Nice! Great job! I’m glad you included the quazi-canon Luna Class, JJPrize, and a 210m Centaur. Bring on more 8)

  6. Suricata says:

    Added the Steamrunner for the Feds and Goroth’s Ship for the Klingons, although I have no idea what class it actually is! I defined its size using the airlock on referance pictures as a guide.

  7. Zoberraz says:

    Some fans might be glad to see the Vesta-class in there, which is semi-canon like the Luna-class.

    I notice you did not add in the Jem’hadar battleship. I can understand that: I mean, if you don’t put a lid on how many ships you’ll put on display, you’ll have to go on a wholly different scale and you’ll pave the way to sizing up Borg spheres, Borg Cubes, Earth’s Spacedock, McKinley Station, the Jupiter complex and so forth.

    Putting that aside, it’s pleasigly esthetic work. Any plan to add the other new ship classes like the Discovery and the Valiant?

  8. Suricata says:

    I intend to add every ship eventually Zoberraz, so eventually it will have all the ships on it. I’m also planning on adding the STO variants as well, 🙂

  9. Suricata says:

    Added the Constellation, Soyuz, Original Constitution and Discovery class (from STO) to the charts 🙂

  10. Zoberraz says:

    The vessel shown in the Voyager series was not named the ‘Daedalus’, but rather the ‘Dauntless’.

    Good additions otherwise. 🙂

  11. Larawyer says:

    nice to actually see the sizes in the same format and the Valiant class is infact the defiant class

  12. Pingback: Star Trek Online - Page 35 - Fires of Heaven Guild Message Board

  13. James says:

    Where is the Excalibur class form STO?

  14. bedlem says:

    I sent you a PM on the STO forum with a klingon ship you could easily add and that I know was a favorite of some.

  15. Bryan says:

    Could you make a version without the JJTrek Constitution (which is not in STO) but that includes the Original Movie Constitution class refit which is in the game? Along with, the TOS Constitution that you already have, of course.

    Thx

  16. Bryan says:

    I stand corrected, I was looking at the second chart, and posted before looking at the 1st one.

  17. Erick says:

    In Comparisontest5, K’t’inga class is misspelled as K’t’linga.

Leave a comment